Getting News Corp Blog Spam

December 20th, 2005 by atari

rupert on myspace

Name: Gregory Blanton | E-mail: Alexander@yahoo.com | IP: 202.56.253.177

Hi. Just letting you know that I enjoyed your site. Circle can Increase Table: http://www.newscorp.com/ , Small Girl Expect or not Astonishing is feature of Bad Chair , Curious Chair is always Green Corner Astonishing is feature of Faithful Boy

Posted Dec 19, 6:55 PM | Edit Comment | Delete Comment | View Post

As if Rupert doesn’t have enough money to spend on more legitimate forms of advertising ?! (And raising his page rank...) Interestingly, the IP does trace back to Australia…

4 Responses to “Getting News Corp Blog Spam”

  1. Octorisk Says:

    Word on the ‘nets is that comment spammers have been spamming with well-known URLs in order to break blacklists, make it harder for Google to decrease the PageRank of spam sites, and in general make life more difficult for reasonable people. I have seen a number of similar comments, at least one of which linked to Google!

  2. atari Says:

    yeah we’ve gotten a lot of those too but it was just too hard not to poke fun at the one with a news corp link..

    but why does it make it harder to decrease the pagerank of spam sites when only “legitimate” links are included? because it makes it harder to discern between the two?

    (and btw, news corp only does have a 7, which isn’t that great…)

  3. Octorisk Says:

    I believe that part of the way that Google determines PageRank is by evaluting both the sites you link to and the sites that link to you. Thus, a blog with both normal spam comments and theses “fake” ones would either cause both the PageRank of normal spam sites and NewsCorp to be depressed, or would cause both PageRanks to increase slightly. Of course, these small increases or decreases could have minimal effect on actual PageRank since nobody outside of Google actually knows the PageRank algorithm.

    Also, Dougal Campbell suggests that the target is not Google, but Bayesian comment filters: http://dougal.gunters.org/blog/2005/12/06/poisoning-the-well

  4. Anonymous Says:

    groups.msn.com site smoking

Leave a Reply

Creative Commons License
.